What’s My Province?

Whenever I got the chance to meet new people or got a chance to talk with people who barely new me, the conversation would go like this:

Them : Saan ang province mo?
Me : Wala akong province. Ikaw?

or in some ways…

Them : Taga- Bataan, Laguna, Cavite (or any other province) ka ba?
Me : No. Manila lang ako.

My family doesn’t have a province. Mama grew up here in Manila, Papa grew up in Taytay, Rizal which is just an hour and a half drive from here. I was born and I grew up here in Manila. Stayed here for more than 27 years. My husband’s family hails from Pampanga, but he didn’t grew up in that place.

I have never experienced living or staying in a province. That oftentimes I wonder what its really like. I just learned through experiences of people who have spent a few years of their life in provinces and some stories are from people who goes on vacation in their provinces. This is the kind of life that I had somehow missed.

Leave a Reply

